Accutane (acne medication)- my experience

‘Skin is not only an envelope protecting the inner body, or a membrane that allows exchange between exterior and interior of the body. It also serves as a mingling point between the outer world and inner self, and between body and soul.’ -Miru Kim.

From an extremely young age I had terrible skin. I broke out well before anybody my age, and I was teased tremendously for this. My skin was never smooth, and the redness and discoloration over my face, especially my forehead, was forever embarrassing and made me feel so insecure. Going to a strict private school also meant that makeup or any form of tinted cosmetic was prohibited which meant I just had to suck it up.

 

Deciding to take Accutane
After trying numerous skin care brands, including Proactive Solution, I decided my last resort was going on an extremely strong medication called Accutane. Accutane is form of vitamin A, which reduces the amount of oil released from the glands, resulting in pores not being filled with excess oil causing blemishes. It is prescribed to individuals suffering with mild acne and those who have given other acne medicines or antibiotics a try without successful results.

Accutane is only prescribed to those who have tried other alternative to help their issue as the medication is an extremely strong formula and comes with a lot of possible side effects. Some of these include:

  • Bone or joint pain
  • Burning, redness, itching, or other signs of eye inflammation
  • Difficulty moving
  • nosebleed
  • Scaling, redness, burning, pain, or other signs of inflammation of the lips
  • Skin infection or rash
  • Mental anxiety and depression

 

My personal experience with taking Accutane

Personally, when taking Accutane I experienced extremely flaky skin, especially on my forehead and lips (as the medication reduces a large amount of oil production), headaches, red and irritated skin on the back of my hands, and anxiety. Even now, four years after finishing my dosage, I experience extremely dry lips, which require moisture from lip balm numerous times a day, and my hands require hand cream.
Due to the product affecting the skins oil, whilst on Accutane I could not be in direct contact with the sun. This was because of my skin being extremely sensitive and dry from the active ingredients, which meant that I had to constantly wear a hat and clothing that covered 90% of my body – even in summer time.

 

Would I recommend Accutane to others?

Deciding to take a product like Accutane is something that only you and your doctor/dermatologist can decide on. It is a decision that should not be taken lightly as this medication comes with a lot of side effects. It should also not be taken if you are wanting to be, or are pregnant as it can cause serious birth defects.

Now that I am older and have more knowledge about skin and skin care, looking back I would have opted for an alternative method of clearing up my skin. There are a lot of higher end skin care products that are guaranteed to clear up your skin, and in a natural way with no side effects. This would have made me healthier and happier I believe my anxiety wouldn’t be as bad as it is today without Accutane. It also required numerous trips to the doctor and dermatologist to have regular check ups and to make sure my skin was reacting positively to the dosage, which quickly burnt a hole in my mum’s bank account.

 

Alternative natural skin care products I would highly recommend.Glosscar_WINNER_2016-exfoliant

Arbonne is a pure, safe and beneficial company that uses only the highest quality ingredients in their products that really do work. The company is so confident in their products that they give a 45 day money back guarantee even if the product is open, to ensure every customer is 100% happy with what they are using on their skin.

Clear up blemishes and help prevent new blemishes from forming with Clear Future, powered by anti-blemish salicylic acid and botanicals to help calm and soothe skin. Decrease the appearance of pore size and discoloration, improve hydration and skin clarity. With Clear Future, blemishes don’t stand a chance.

13256876_223078554744344_161835693_n
Image from Arbonne.com

Clinical Grading Results

In 3 days

  • 38% showed a reduction in blemishes
  • 76% showed visible improvement in skin redness
  • 100% showed improvement in moisturisation

After 1 week

  • 79% showed a reduction in blemishes
  • 79% showed visible improvement in skin redness
  • 88% showed improvement in the appearance of dark spots (skin discoloration)

What I use now to maintain my skin

Once finishing a dose of acne medication doesn’t always mean you never have to take care of your skin again. There is no cure for acne, however taking constant care and knowing what is good and bad for your skin is crucial. Everybody, no matter what age or size needs to keep up a strong skin care regime to ensure their skin is getting enough vitamins and antioxidants to keep it at a healthy level. I chose to use Arbonne’s FC5 range. FC5 stands for Fresh Cell Technology, containing 5 key fruits and vegetables to get that perfect blend.
It has a smell that i can’t even begin to describe, but it’s just incredibly fresh.

Radiance is key to skin’s beauty. FC5 helps revitalise, hydrate and protect the skin’s appearance thanks to innovative technology and progressive plant cell ingredients. Our formulas’ encapsulated fresh cells deliver more effective and more potent ingredients because of their preserved freshness. The fresh cells contain phytonutrients that are biocompatible: The skin welcomes these phytonutrients in their pure, safe and effective state, to help maintain skin’s natural-looking radiance.

Kiwi, strawberry, carrot, mango and pumpkin: We combine the phytonutrients from these 5 specially selected fruits and vegetables — packed with vitamins and antioxidants — to promote and enhance youthful-looking skin. Arbonne FC5 offers exclusive fresh science to sustain the beautiful appearance of healthy-looking skin by providing it with beneficial hydration, necessary cleansing, exfoliation and moisturisation, plus the added benefit of UVA and UVB protection to preserve skin’s radiance and help slow the signs of ageing. FC5 offers distinct formulas to help skin’s natural moisture and hydration, and specifically address various skin types, from normal/dry to oily/combination. I personally chose the oily/combination range as over the past year have developed quite an oily T zone and feel IMG_5341as though this range helps balance out the oiliness.

 

For more information on my experienced with Accutane, more information on Arbonne’s Clear Future range or any Arbonne products, or any questions regarding skin concerns, please contact me.

I hope that this blog post has helped with understanding what Accutane is, and how there are alternative ways to clearing up your skin.

Ali xxxx

4 thoughts on “Accutane (acne medication)- my experience

  1. I’ve had trouble with acne in the past as well but have gotten it 99% under control with a regimen after a lot of research. Excellent post, all the information is correct to my knowledge and I really liked the quote you put at the beginning, saving that for a rainy day 👌 Thanks for sharing

    Like

      1. Absolutely not! Currently I use generic acne ‘wash’ with 2% salicylic acid, dial unscented soap, and Vaseline unscented lotion. I’ve tried accutane twice but experienced side effects like yourself: very dry skin, flaky lips and increased oiliness. I’ve discovered I have fairly sensitive skin that drys out fairly quickly, hence the unscented products and the Vaseline lotion for extra moisture So now instead of drugs or complicated regimens I keep it simple, and seem to have my acne under control… at least for the moment! I found your post by looking through posts released to tags I follow like ‘blog’ or ‘writing’, not sure which you specifically fall under but again, great post and thanks again 🙂 Any skin care tips you have for me?! Always looking for knowledge 👍

        Like

      2. Sounds great! my only tip would be to ditch the vaseline wash. Vaseline is made of petroleum, and petroleum comes from crude oil, which is in petrol. It also isn’t vegan, which means that it contains animal-by products, which is animal fat (from road kill and parts of animals that butchers can’t sell). This is not good for your skin and i would highly recommend switching this for something a lot more natural as it is definitely not good for your skin. Let me know if you want me to recommend any products to use instead of this or any other info. Im hoping to do a blog post in the near future explaining this in more depth as many people don’t understand whats hiding in their skin care and cosmetics and how bad it really is for us and the environment. 🙂 hope this helps

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

