Why choose ‘Vegan’ cosmetics and skin care

Veganism is a very popular word nowadays. Every man and his dog seem to be following a vegan diet, which means eating a range of foods that do not include animal products, being any form of meat, milk and eggs. They also do not incorporate any animal products in their clothes and household, so no sheep wool blankets or duck down puffy jackets. I honestly don’t know how they do it, so hats off to them, however I do believe using vegan skin care and cosmetics are important to our every day health and our planet. Also please not this is my personal opinion, my purpose of this blog is to educate those who want to know about products and ingredients, so if you disagree with what I ha to say then please keep it to yourself. At the end of the day we are all human and have our own individual opinions.

Vegan cosmetics are on the rise, and if you’re as addicted as me, you’ll probably notice the little bunny and vegan sign that is on a lot of products these days. However, did you know that there is a difference between a product animal testing and it being vegan? This is why.

What makes a product vegan?

If a product is vegan it means it is not tested on animals and contains no animal products. You’re probably thinking, pfft my foundation doesn’t have any animals in it! But it really does. Products that are NOT vegan use animal by products, which is a filler to make tno_cruel_cosmetics_logohe product look larger than what it is and make the customer think they are getting a lot of product for their money. Have u ever wondered why your mac foundation has that unpleasant chemical smell and appears cakey and oily on the skin? This is why.

 

What are animal-by products/animal rendering?

Animal rendering is where companies collect parts of animals you can’t eat (from butchers, etc), road kill, and dead pets. They boil these animals in large pots, and the fat of the animal then rises to the top of the pot. The fat is then scraped off and placed in containers ready to be shipped to major cosmetic companies and used as a filler. “Rendering takes in a wide variety of source materials that include parts such as brains, eyeballs, spinal cords, intestines, bones, feathers or hooves as well as restaurant grease, supermarket rejects such as spoiled steak, road kill and in some areas euthanized cats and dogs from veterinarians and animal shelters.” (Mohammed, 2003)

Vegan vs cruelty free. What’s the difference?

Cruelty free products are generally those that do not do any form of animal testing when it comes to new products or reformulating. Vegan products, like stated above, are those that do not test on animals and do not have any animal products involved. This is important to look out for, as many people that I know thing they are doing good to their skin and animals by purchasing ‘cruelty free’, but in reality the product is packed full of dead animal fat.

 

What are the negative side effects of using NON vegan products?

Apart from the obvious, it takes only 25 seconds for whatever you put on your skin to seep into your blood stream. That fact alone is enough to make me cringe when I think about all the different products I’ve used over the years that are filled with hundreds of chemicals. Not only does it feel unethical, but the fat that you’re smearing on your skin is the gateway to blocked pores and ageing. The fat will stop anything from getting in and out of your skin (hello blackheads?). It also stops your skin from breathing in general, which means the skin can not get the hydration from your moisturisers or essential oils.

Which cosmetic and skin care companies are vegan?

  • Arbonne    arbonne-logo
  • Too Faced
  • Milani
  • Tarte
  • Urban Decay
  • Wet n Wild
  • Lush
  • Kat Von D Beauty

 

Which cosmetic and skin care companies do test on animals

  • Johnson & Johnson
  • Macmac-logo
  • Estee Lauder
  • Avon
  • Benefit
  • Bobbi Brown
  • Burberry
  • L’Oreal
  • Calvin Kelin Cosmetics
  • Clarisonic
  • Cliniquestila-logo-high-res
  • Dior
  • Marc Jacobs
  • Max Factor
  • Nivea
  • Nu Skin
  • Ives
  • Stila
  • Victorias Secret

How do I know my products are safe?

Its simple, ensure that your products are PETA approved. PETA is a company standing for ‘People for Ethical Treatment of Animals.’ They will also have a bunny, or a little sign that says ‘vegan’ on it to specify that its safe.

vegan-alexami-300x241crueltyfreepeta-facebook-logo-2

How can I stop this from happening?

Buy Vegan products and don’t support those companies that are still testing on animals to this day. Do your research and learn about the different ingredients in your skin care and makeup, and then figure out what they actually are. My biggest shock to this day is finding out that Vaseline (petroleum) is made purely from petrol. Now THAT is something I definitely don’t want to be putting on my skin!

 

What products can I recommend?

I support my own business, Arbonne as much as I can. I don’t use any other skin care on my face that is not Arbonne as I believe their message is beautiful and that botanical products are highly beneficial. However, when it comes to makeup I use 90% Arbonne as the company does not stock everything that I use (for example, a matte bronzer for contouring). If anyone would like a skin care analysis done or is interested in learning about my different skin care and makeup products to benefit your skin the best way, feel free to email, direct message me, or purchase straight from my website if you know what you’re after. Alternatively, you can leave a comment on this post.

For face to face consultations in Tasmania I am available from September 22nd – October 1st until my next trip home, and in Melbourne CBD and eastern suburbs every day.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and I hope this gives you the information you need.

 

Ali xxxxx

Leave a Reply

