My journey to beauty school

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.”- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Attending beauty school is something I never thought I would do. Makeup and having treatments done is something I have always loved experimenting with, however I never thought it was a career choice for me. In 2016, after graduating college, I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I have always liked the idea of becoming an events manager, store owner or a PR for a large company, however it wasn’t something I was passionate about and knew I definitely didn’t want to do that in my life. After a lot of thought, I decided to attend Uni and do a bachelor of business. Business covers so many different aspects and thought that doing this course would open up a lot of career pathways. After officially enrolling, and going into the school to chose my modules for the first year, I was so overwhelmed. Uni was something I just assumed I was expected to go to. All through high school I was brainwashed to think that university was the be all and end all of life, and If you didn’t go to uni you would be unsuccessful.

I stood there, in the admin office at the university, with tears building up and a burning sensation in my head, knowing that this is not what I wanted to do for the next 4 years of my life. I kept thinking to myself, if I don’t go to uni what will I do with my life? Where will I earn a living? Where will I be in 10 years? Having severe anxiety did not help this situation, and I could feel a panic attack coming on.
These negative thoughts just kept going through my head, but I couldn’t handle it. I decided no, I’m not going to put myself through this. I’m not going to spend the next 4 years of my life doing a course that I am not truly passionate about and spend thousands of dollars doing so. I didn’t know what I was going to do, but with the support of my family and close friends I made it through, and in that, I can confidentially say I am the happiest I’ve ever been.

During the next few months I got myself a new job. I’m not going to lie, I did spend a few days on the couch with ice cream and chocolate watching Netflix wondering what I was going to do with my life. My boyfriend was off to Uni to study law, and literally all my other friends had decided what they wanted to do. I was employed at a salad/sandwich bar in which I spent the next 6 months working part time. I really enjoyed this, and it was a prefect opportunity for me to earn some decent money while also having a lot of free time to myself to focus on keeping fit and having a healthy mind.
Over this time, my passion for beauty grew. As a solid income was coming in, I was able to afford luxury items and was able to treat myself at my local salon, Inner Beauty. At this time I had also been running my own business selling natural skin care and cosmetics, and decided that this industry is where my heart was. I did soooo much interest to find out where this industry could take me, and was in love with the possibilities.

Without thinking twice, I enrolled in a spray tanning course and a lash & brow course at a local training academy. Being half way through a gap year, I thought this was a perfect time to dip my feet into the waters and see if the industry was for me… and I LOVED IT!

From then on things went up! I started to do a lot of research into schools I could attend, and decided exactly what I wanted to do, which is become a dermal therapist! To become a dermal therapist, one must complete a diploma of beauty therapy and then go onto to do further studies at a uni. I was confident in knowing I would be fine to go to uni at this point cause I will be so close to becoming what I wanted to be, and If I wanted to work as a beauty therapist before attending uni then I had the option to. Unfortunately, no schools within Launceston Tasmania offered a diploma of beauty therapy, which is the pre requisite to get into dermal therapy. I had 2 choices, move to Hobart, or fly over to Melbourne and start a new life over there. Living in Melbourne had always been on my to-do list, and I thought why not! It took a HUGE amount of courage to pack my bags and move over here, but im so glad I did it.

There are sooooooo many different beauty schools around Melbourne. Like to come to the conclusion of only picking one was extremely hard! However, I decided to go with the National Academy of Beauty. National Academy of Beauty is located in both Melbourne and also Brisbane, and offers only diploma of makeup and diploma of beauty therapy. The school is just gorgeous. The one I am attending is located on Flinders street, which overlooks the Yarra river and south bank. Its just beautiful. I have made soooo many amazing friends over here so far from school and know they are friendships I will have for a long time. img_6311

I guess the purpose of this blog is to educate those around me and that this post reaches and let them know that going to university straight out of school isn’t meant for everyone. If you are unsure of your future plans, do not jump into anything you are unsure of or aren’t fully committed to it. Taking this time to think about what I wanted in life is the best decision I have ever made and I am grateful that I believed in myself enough to stand up and take control of my life.
I hope this has helped anyone unsure of his or her future.

Ali xxxxxx

2 thoughts on “My journey to beauty school

Leave a Reply

