TRASH TALK- hyped products that aren’t worth the $

Personally, I love reading blog posts that focus on products that are either dark horses, amazing dupes, or about high-end products that really aren’t worth purchasing. Here I have gathered some products that I was really excited to try but ended up being a personal let down. Please note, just because I dont like them doesnt mean you wont! I suggest trying them for yourself however make sure its a sample size!

Too Faced ‘Born this way’ concealer

“Meet the perfect partner to the best-selling Born this way foundation- an undetectable, complete coverage concealer for the ultimate #iwokeuplikethis finish. ”

The born this way concealer is so watery, like soon watery. When I was browsing Mecca the makeup advisor told me that the born this way had more of a fuller coverage than the Nars concealer that I already had, so though it would be a good change, but I was wrong.  Unlike my ears concealer, this goes on and once blended in I have to go back and do numerous more applications to get my desired coverage. This is not ideal for those rushed Monday mornings.img_9642img_9638

NYX translucent powder

“A miracle in a jar! This 100% pure mineral silica finishing powder is perfect for setting your foundation or wearing alone. The luminous white powder goes on neutral and works on all skin tones. It leaves your skin looking radiant and luminous. Use lightly as a little goes a long way.”

I was told that this would be a good product for beginners when learning how to bake, but wow I was so wrong. This translucent powder is so drying and makes my under eyes feel kinda crusty and makes my concealer crease so much. A definite no-no in my opinion.

MAC Studio Fix foundation

“An oil-controlling formula that offers a natural matte finish with medium to full coverage.”

Personally, this foundation is the complete opposite of ‘oil-controlling’. It’s such a thick consistency and smells extremely chemically. Everyone has their opinions on different brands and different foundations for the skin but this definitely wasn’t a match for me.

Hourglass Ambient Strobe

“An innovative powder made of reflective micro pearl particles to create the perfect soft, neutral or lustrous highlight.”

I had VERY high expectations of this Hourglass product. Hourglass is such a high-end and extremely expensive product in which i thought was guaranteed to be my new holy grail highlighter/strobe powder.

img_0747

Too Faced Lip injections

“A lip plumper for immediate satisfaction and long-term results; this is a day and night use serum that will become part of your daily routine.”

I was given a sample of this gloss and heck, I can’t even begin to explain how much it irritated my lips. Within 30 minutes my lips had developed large welt-like lumps which hurt so bad. Not to mention the instant burning and swelling sensation that is apparently ‘normal’ for this. It was so uncomfortable and I was left with irritated and itchy lips for days after. I could be allergic to an ingredient as I have friends that love this product but my experience was horrible. I secretly wish i really liked this, mainly because $40 for this gloss is a hell of a lot cheaper than $450 cosmetic injections, ahah!

Beauty Blender

“An edgeless, non-disposable, high-definition cosmetic sponge applicator made especially for professionals.”

For $30 AUD, this didn’t live up to my expectations. I had heard many good reviews about this blender and since repurchasing my beloved ChiChi sponge blender I thought it was time to try something different. My first impression of this was good, however I was quite disappointed with how much product it still soaked up. The original beauty blender claims that it does not soak up any product however i disagree. I find this blender is ok to use to blend through concealer after using my finger to pat it into the skin however I wouldn’t  recommend it over Chi Chi and definitely wouldn’t use it for full foundation application.

Anastasia Brow Wiz

“Create a perfect arch that follows your natural bone structure with the ultra-slim Brow Wiz, a precise mechanical pencil with a retractable tip that glides effortlessly to mimic fine hair. Ideal for filling in sparse or over-tweezed areas, this pencil’s smudge-proof formula stays put for fresh, natural-looking brows.”

Aw man i had high expectations for this pencil. Anastasia Beverly Hills is such a high-end and well-known brand here in Australia and is even more popular overseas, however I have no idea why everyone loves this eyebrow pencil. This gave me no definition and i had to press so hard to get the slightest bit of colour out of it. It ended up only lasting me approximately 2 weeks, which for around $45 is not good enough in my opinion. It also broke towards the end which proved just how flimsy it was.  Definitely won’t be repurchasing.

Josie Maran Cosmetics 100% Pure Argan Oil 

“A multitasking wonder product, 100% pure Argan Oil can be used to hydrate, protect and heal nails, hair and skin.”

I was given 2 samples of this oil in a Mecca Maxima package so of cause I had to try it- one was original and one was the lighter textured oil. Josie Maran is a really high-end company and their price tags make this very evident. Having normal/combination skin, I felt as if this oil was unnecessary for my skin. I tried the light oil on my face however it make my skin slimy and it sat on the surface of my skin. I could tell that it did this by the oil residue left on my pillow the next morning-gross. Given that I wasn’t impressed with it on my face, I thought i would try a small amount in the ends of my hair. I’ve always been one to use oils in my ends however this last year I have been using more upmarket hair care and my hair hasn’t needed it. When I woke up the next morning the oil had made my hair look extremely wet, as if it didn’t sink in properly. I did everything the packaging told me to, however it just didn’t work. I also only used the slightest amount. For $70, i don’t think i could repurchase unless I won the lottery.

josie-maran-argan-oil
Not my image

Thanks everyone for reading this post! I hope this has given you an insight into how different products work for different people, however give them a go for yourself (or try a sample size) to really determine if they work for your skin! ”

Love Ali xxx

2 thoughts on “TRASH TALK- hyped products that aren’t worth the $

  1. lovely post and very interesting, yes I definitely think it’s better to use your fingers to pat in the foundation before using a damp beauty blender to go over it as I also found that it does soak up a lot of the product, but I prefer using it instead of a brush as it gives me a more flawless non cakey finish. I also have a skincare blog dedicated to oily and sensitive skin https://oilysen.wordpress.com/ if you’ll like to check it out that’ll be great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

